This Makes Me Sad..

While watching computer related videos on YouTube tonight, I came across this one..

Seeing how these teens react to Windows 95 makes me so sad..

I remember when I couldn’t wait for it to come out and getting it that very Christmas after it did. It completely revolutionized the Windows operating system world. I don’t think the newer generations of people really appreciate the way they interact with a computer. It wasn’t long before Windows 95 when I still had to use a very basic operating system like Norton Commander and enter commands on MS-DOS. Sure, there were Windows 3.0, 3.1, 3.11, etc. but those were still “rough” compared to Windows 95.

I also remember having to “dial-up” a connection to get online. While online, you couldn’t make phone calls or receive phone calls unless you had a second phone line in the house for the internet connection. It wasn’t very cheap being on the phone very long (especially when your dial-up internet connection wasn’t a local number) at that time, so you “dialed-up” when you absolutely had to do something on the internet and you disconnected when you were done. There was no leaving your internet online 24/7.

When it comes to the world of computers, people nowadays are spoiled. I was lucky enough to have a grandpa who was a mechanical engineer and a programmer who knew a lot about computers at the time and taught me DOS at a very young age. Of course, over the years of not having to use it, I lost much of that information.. However, I still know enough where I can run some of my old favorite software programs from the early ’90s on more current computers.

